What makes a Lady?

Picture courtesy of Donna Irene Photography

Today I had the unfortunate task of having to drop off Miss Molly Marie to be spayed. On the verge of my little baby becoming a teen, we chose the soundest medical option to protect her in the future- removing her lady-parts. Sitting in the dedicated, yet slightly impersonal Humane Society, I started to ponder, “What makes a lady?” Sure God graced us with curves, breasts and the miraculous ability to bring life to this world, yet does that sum up our womanhood?

I recently attended a Blogging 101 course and witnessed the epitome of femininity and class. A beautiful dark-skinned woman stood up and proudly proclaimed with an incredible amount of self-love, confidence and class- “I have NO breast!” A recent Breast Cancer survivor, this inspiring young woman had lost what many believe “defines” a woman, yet displayed the essence of a lady more than anyone I had ever encountered.

I was so proud of this perfect stranger. She exuded courageousness and beauty. I thought to myself, “Wow, if all women could love themselves as much as she loved herself, then this world would be a much better place.” She inspired me…I felt grateful for my health and my life. I felt blessed to witness such an awe-inspiring moment. So, today as I dropped off my pup, I thought of her and I offered up a prayer for her and all my fellow sisters.

May we always walk proud and practice loving ourselves more; for it is in that we are more able to better love others.

Blissful Love,

Nicki G. The Blissful Wife

P.S. Shout out some prayers for my baby- I will update you all ;).

15 thoughts on “What makes a Lady?

  1. It’s Carla! I hear you, I see you! I am in shock at the reaction my little life has had on you! I too was inspired by everyone at blogging 101 and I am making steps toward beginning my blog. Maria and Nikki – thank you for sharing your time and talent with us. I am the brstlssbeauty – no vowels in “breastless” – no breasts (hardy, har, har!). Currently on Instagram (also mscarlahill on Insta…) and 3 days old on Twitter. Looking to launch blog per all of your lovely tips this October. Scary! I can’t wait to see you at my launch party. Think big, right?!?!?!

    • Carla!! Did you see all the love you ministered to us simply through your presence? It was such a blessing meeting you!! I am so happy you enjoyed the story!! You already have LOADS OF FOLLOWERS waiting for your Blog!! You will do so awesome!! Keep us posted here on Blissfulvida! We are all now stalking you on Twitter and Instagram! xoxo

  2. I love this line – “May we always walk proud and practice loving ourselves more; for it is in that we are more able to better love others.” Beautiful and elegant.

    And I can’t want to read Carla’s blog (who I am now stalking on twitter)!

    • Thank you so much @Mryjhnsn!! So glad you loved it. I can’t wait to see Carla’s blog too!!! I know she will rock it!! I am also now stalking you on Twitter 😉 Make sure to stop by again xo

  3. Positively uplifting!! It’s a fabulous question to wrap by brain around especially being a mother with a young daughter. Best wishes for the pup’s quick recovery.

  4. Positively uplifting! A fabulous question to wrap my brain around as a mother raising a young daughter. Best wishes for the pup’s speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

